Bristol & Bath Champions Shield 2013 ‎(1st Leg)‎ - Zoom Zooms 10 - 9 Pims

1st Leg (Bath) - 7th August 2013: Zoom Zooms 10 - 9 Pims

In an extremely close match Bath Summer League Champions, the Zoom Zooms, got one hand on the Bristol & Bath Champions Shield with a 10 ponts to 9 win over their Bristol rivals.  Although, the Pims continually threatened to take the spoils, a depleted, but fanastic Zoom Zooms side took and held the lead for the entire game.  This sets things up nicely for the return leg in Bristol.

2nd Leg (Bristol) - Date TBC: Pims vs Zoom Zooms

Unfortunately, the series could not be completed as a suitable date for the 2nd leg match could not be found.



Runner-up: Bristol Baabaas (Bristol)

This year saw the inaugural staging of the Bristol & Bath Champions Shield.  Over a two leg series the Champions of Bristol (Bristol BaaBaas) took on the Champions of Bath (Zoom Zooms) to find out who the is the "Best in the West".

In a pulsating contest, the Zoom Zooms added the Bristol & Bath Champions Shield to their Bath Summer League title with an aggregate win over the Bristol BaaBaas.  Having won the first leg 11-7 in Bristol (Monday 18th August), the Zoom Zooms looked to be odds on favourites to win the second leg (held at Stothert & Pitt RFC on Wednesday 20th August).  However, after letting slip a 3 nil lead they had to settle for a 7-5 loss, but it was enough to secure them the title and provide them and the Bath League with bragging rights over their Bristol colleagues.

Congratulations Zoom Zooms!

(Pictured: Zoom Zooms captain Oliver Sacco receives the Bristol & Bath Champions Shield from Bath Touch Leagues Organiser, Neil Davies)


1st Leg (Bristol) - 18th August 2008: Bristol Baabaas 7 - 11 Zoom Zooms

2nd Leg (Bath) - 20th August 2008: Zoom Zooms 5 - 7 Bristol Baabaas

Competition Format

The champions from both the Bath and Bristol Summer Leagues play a two match series (home and away) to determine the best team across both competitions.  If each team wins one game each, then the series is decided by the aggregate score across both matches.